Impérial Quartet

Joachim Florent electric bass
Gérald Chevillon bass, tenor and soprano saxophones
Damien Sabatier baritone, alto and sopranino saxophones, contralto clarinet
Antonin Leymarie drums, harmonium


Four musicians who have shared a close bond for many years join forces in Impérial Quartet, which came into existence in 2010. Built around rhythms from double/electric bass and drums – responsive, generous, solid, and always on the alert – the group’s strength lies in the unique nature of the unmistakable bond which has united the saxophonists for over fifteen years.

Inspired as much by traditional and trance-like music as the driving force behind rock, this search for organic material creates a rhythmic nerve centre for ethereal melodies and soaring lyricism.